Staff & Board

  • Brent Miller

  • Executive Director

Brent Miller is a composer and performer with extensive experience in the field of arts administration. A founding member of the composers group The Collected, he has produced concerts all over the United States promoting the work of living composers and emerging ensembles. Recent composition projects include pieces for Rova Saxophone Quartet, violinist Eric km Clark (EAR Unit, Southland Ensemble), Dither Electric Guitar Quartet, cellist Hannah Addario-Berry, Nonsemble 6, and Magik*Magik Orchestra. His works have been performed at a variety of venues and festivals, including Dogstar Orchestra, Cape Fear New Music Festival, SCI Regional Festivals, and ISSUE Project Room. As an arts administrator, Miller has served as the administrator for Rova:Arts, running the organization that supports the Rova Saxophone Quartet, and as the Development Associate at Stanford Jazz Workshop, assisting with all areas of fundraising. As Program Assistant at Other Minds (2010-12), he oversaw production details of the annual Other Minds Festival. Miller holds degrees from University of Arkansas (BM) and University of Missouri-Kansas City (MM).

Find out more about Brent as a composer at his website.

  • David Samas

  • Gallery Manager

David Samas is a composer, cosmologist, poet, painter, performer, philosopher, farmer and father of 4. He has a BFA from the SF Art Institute in conceptual art and studied poetics at the New College of California, Vassar, Bennington and S.F. State. As a young man he performed with the SF Boys Chorus, the SF Opera and the SF Symphony with which he won a GRAMMY for the “best classical recording” of 1994. David focuses on inventing instruments and extended vocal techniques, and is the creator of the Superb Metaliphone, the Gamelan Piano, the Crystalithaphone, Glassilalia and a number of musical paintings which serve as sets, orchestras and characters for his inventive operas and shadow plays. He also serves as Artistic director at Turquoise Yantra Grotto, an ethno-modernist house concert series, makes sacred geometry amulets and talismans, is an excellent cook, and self publishes small editions of hand bound art books.

  • Jen Wang

  • Web & Interface Design

Jen Wang is a composer and founder/co-director of the contemporary music ensemble Wild Rumpus. She is a 2012 recipient of a Staubach Honorarium from the Internationales Ferienkurse für Neue Musik, Darmstadt, for which she was commissioned to write a new piece for Talea. Her work has also been performed by Rootstock, the California EAR Unit, the Del Sol String Quartet, and Onix Ensamble; and she has participated in the Other Minds Festival’s Composer Fellowship, the Wellesley Composers Conference, the International Computer Music Conference, and the Bang On A Can Summer Institute. Currently, Jen is a doctoral candidate in composition at UC Berkeley, where she has been awarded the Eisner Award in Music and the Nicola de Lorenzo Prize in Music Composition. Her upcoming projects include new pieces commissioned by Left Coast Chamber Ensemble and the San Francisco Girls Chorus.

  • D. Riley Nicholson

  • Project Manager

D. Riley Nicholson is a composer, percussionist, pianist, and arts management professional. Riley has composed for a wide range of mediums including music for contemporary dance and ballet, theater, film, concert and chamber music, and electronic music. Riley creates post-classical, metaphorically rich music that is viscerally satisfying and intellectually enriching. Collaborations include original music for Post:Ballet, Amaranth String Quartet, David Herrera Performance Group, Hot Air Music Festival, Ballet Memphis’s Cecily Khuner, and many other talented artists and organizations. Recently, Riley premiered Shimmer, for piano and electronics, at C4NM to sold-out audiences, then embarked on his first national tour, stopping by NYC, Baltimore, his hometown in Arkansas, and Chicago. His work has received support from Intermusic SF and the Horizons Foundation. As an arts management professional, Riley supports vibrant nonprofits that focus on uplifting contemporary arts practice: from 2016-2018 he worked for Post:Ballet as Company Manager, and now supports C4NM as Project Manager and SF Dance Film Fest as Marketing Consultant. Riley has a M.M. in Composition from the San Francisco Conservatory of Music and a B.M. B.A. in percussion performance and psychology from the University of Memphis.

  • Adam Fong

  • Co-Founder, ED (2012-2018)

Adam Fong has worked as a composer, performer, and producer of new music since completing his MFA in Music Composition at California Institute of the Arts, where he studied with James Tenney and Wadada Leo Smith. As Associate Director of Other Minds (2006–2012), Fong produced six editions of the annual Other Minds Festival, dubbed the “premier new music festival on the West Coast” (Los Angeles Times), and many special projects including the CD reissues of Conlon Nancarrow’s Studies for Player Piano and The Complete Music of Carl Ruggles, tribute concerts to Ruth Crawford Seeger, Henry Cowell, and Dane Rudhyar, a celebration of the 50th Anniversary of Fluxus, and the American Premiere of 18 Microtonal Ragas based on “Solo for Voice 58″ by John Cage. Fong’s own compositions have been performed internationally in Auckland, London, Berlin, Tübingen and Darmstadt, at many US universities, and throughout California, by performers including the two-piano team Dennis Russell Davies and Maki Namekawa. In 2008, he co-founded Emerging Arts Professionals/San Francisco Bay Area, a network dedicated to the development and growth of next generation arts and culture workers; he was Chair of Business Development in 2010-11 and Director from 2011-14. Adam also holds a master’s degree from Stanford University (English). He has lectured on experimental music and received international publication of his scholarly and creative work, and serves on advisory boards, panels, and committees at the local and national level.

Board of Directors

Maggie Andrews
Allister Capati, Secretary
Carter Gibson, President
Brent Miller, Vice-President
Sueli Shaw
Dennis Yang, Treasurer

Executive Advisory Board: Jeffrey Babcock, Monte Cimino, Deborah Cullinan, Bea Dominguez, Peter Esmonde, Kenneth Foster, Emmi Lim


We are now accepting applications for Spring/Summer 2019 Production internships! More info


Suki O’Kane
Miles Anderson
Sarah Guo
Katie McMurran
Jan Michaels
Don Ayers
Charles Xavier
Kathy Ketman