Sound Icon: Works by UC Berkeley Composers

Thursday, November 16, 2017 — 12:00 AM
Tickets: $15 General; $10 Members, Students, Underemployed
Buy Tickets Online
Tickets also available at the door

Boston-based Sound Icon performs Helmut Lachenmann’s “Trio Fluido” and premieres new works for clarinet, percussion, and violin by UC Berkeley graduate composers Andrew Harlan, Clara Olivares, James Stone, and Jon Yu.
Led by conductor and artistic director Jeffrey Means, Sound Icon has quickly become established as a leading artistic force in Boston, performing challenging, cutting-edge contemporary repertoire for sinfonietta that is rarely heard live in Boston and the United States. Sound Icon has worked with prominent composers such as Philippe Leroux and Salvatore Sciarrino and performed works by Gérard Grisey, Helmut Lachenmann, Beat Furrer, Wolfgang Rihm, Salvatore Sciarrino, Georg Friedrich Haas, Fausto Romitelli and many others. Founded in spring 2011, Sound Icon has since established relationships with local cultural institutions such as the Boston University Center for New Music, the Institute of Contemporary Art Boston, and Northeastern University, creating cross-institutional collaborations that support truly exciting events. In spring 2013, Sound Icon was featured as the Fromm Players at Harvard, and has been involved with other local concert series and presenters. In addition to live concert events, Sound Icon frequently holds workshops with young composers and instrumentalists as part of collaborative academic residencies. Sound Icon’s mission is to perform significant progressive repertoire for sinfonietta and to advocate ambitious music in Boston and beyond.
For this concert, Sound Icon will perform as a trio with Rane Moore (clarinet), Jeffrey Means (percussion), and Gabriela Diaz (violin).