SFMusic Thursdays: Alcyone Ensemble (sponsored by SFFCM)

Thursday, October 23, 2014 — 12:00 AM
Tickets: $15 General, $10 Members
Tickets available at the door only

Alcyone Rehearsal
Alcyone Ensemble, a two flute and piano trio, is made up of Oakland East Bay Symphony flutists Rena Urso-Trapani and Amy Likar, and Bay Area pianist extraordinaire Miles Graber. Alcyone is delighted to be a part of the Center for New Music Thursday evening concert series. Their program will include Maya, a workd for two flutes and piano by British flutist/composer Ian Clarke; Legend for two piccolos and piano by Minneapolis-based composer Carol Barnett; Au Dela Du Temps, a beautiful work in four movements for two flutes and piano by Japanese composer Yuko Uebayashi; and Blister and Wow, Alcyone’s newly-commissioned work by Brooklyn-based composer Daniel Felsenfeld. What makes Felsenfeld’s piece especially unique is its instrumentation: two flutists and piano, with each flutist playing flute, piccolo, and alto flute. This concert is not to be missed!
For more information, please visit: www.alcyoneensemble.com