In compliance with San Francisco’s order to shelter in place, the Center for New Music is closed beginning March 16. All events through the end of May are canceled. From our blog: Resources for Artists During the COVID-19 Outbreak
During these extraordinary times, donations are critically important to the continued survival of arts organizations.

Raskin-Brown-Tarasov-Hoopes Quartet

Thursday, January 30, 2020 — 7:30 PM
Tickets: $15 General, $10 Members & Students
Buy Tickets Online
Tickets also available at the door

VLADIMIR TARASOV, The incredible drummer/composer/artist from Vilnius, is joining local musicians Chris Brown (piano & electronics), Jason Hoopes (electric bass) and Jon Raskin (saxophones) for an evening improvised music. Tarasov was a member the of Ganelin Trio and has performed with Andrew Cyrille, the Rova Saxophone Quartet, Anthony Braxton, Lauren Newton, and Josef Nadj.

CHRIS BROWN, composer, pianist, and electronic musician, creates music for acoustic instruments with interactive electronics, for computer networks, and for improvising ensembles. He has collaborated with percussionist William Winant and reeds master Frank Gratkowski in free improvised music documented on the double-CD Vermilion Traces/Donaueschingen on LEO Records. His most recent music explores microtonal tunings, including The Chromelodia Project with Theresa Wong and Kyle Bruckmann, and Six Primes, for piano in 13-limit just intonation. Recordings of his music are available on New World Records, Tzadik, and F’oc’sle.

JASON HOOPES is a bassist and educator. His work as bassist includes numerous bay area groups including but not limited to Jack O’ The Clock, Fred Frith Trio, Efft, OrkestRova, Scott Amendola / Karl Alfonso Defensor Evangelista.

JON RASKIN has been a member of Rova Saxophone Quartet for 40 years exploring the relationship of improvisation and composition, developing and honing the language of ensemble music, and researching linguistic possibilities of the saxophone. He has performed and/or recorded with Anthony Braxton, Fred Frith, Sam Rivers, Tim Berne, Phillip Johnston, Leo Smith and Henry Kaiser.