In compliance with San Francisco’s order to shelter in place, the Center for New Music is closed beginning March 16. All in-person events through the end of July are canceled. From our blog: Resources for Artists During the COVID-19 Outbreak
During these extraordinary times, donations are critically important to the continued survival of arts organizations.

Ochs-Tarasov Duo & Michael Vlatkovich Quartet

Saturday, August 31, 2013 — 12:00 AM
Tickets: $15 General, $10 Members
Tickets available at the door only
Tarasov IMG_0034 Michael5lg[3]
  Vladimir Tarasov   Michael Vlatkovich

Ochs and Tarasov first met in 1983 in the USSR when Rova and Tarasov jammed there in Lithuania. Most other concerts between these two musicians have taken place on tour in Europe and Russia as well as in California in a trio called “Jones Jones” that includes bassist Mark Dresser. This will be the first public duo by these two great improvisers.
The Los Angeles based Michael Vlatkovich Quartet features Michael Vlatkovich-trombone, Tom McNalley-guitar, Scott Walton-bass, and Garth Powell-drums. This Quartet is a blend of composed and improvised music filled with both technical prowess and passion. These musicians can play! They are happily awaiting their first release “ALONE WITH ZERO” winter 2014.
Garth Powell’s very special percussion set that takes hours to set up and tune  will be featured in both sets, as Powell and Tarasov have had a long artistic relationship and Tarasov has always preferred to play on Powell’s set when in California. Which is not so often,  as Powell lives in Southern California and Tarasov lives in Lithuania. So don’t miss this special show.