Michael Tan: Modernism and Beyond

Sunday, August 6, 2017 — 12:00 AM
Tickets: $15 General, $10 Members
Buy Tickets Online
Tickets also available at the door

Guam-born pianist Michael Tan performs an adventurous program of solo music from the mid 20th century onward. The first part of the program features music of Olivier Messiaen and Pierre Boulez, two French composers significant to mid-century modernism. The second part presents music of two living composers, Michael Finnissy and Salvatore Sciarrino, key figures in the latter part of the 20th century to the present.
Complete Program:
Olivier Messiaen: “Le Tranquet stapazin” from Catalogue d’oiseaux, Bk. 2 (1956)
Pierre Boulez: Piano Sonata No. 1 (1946)
Michael Finnissy: “Green Meadows” and “Midsummer Morn” from English Country-Tunes (1977)
Finnissy: Stanley Stokes, East Street 1836 (1989)
Salvatore Sciarrino: Due Notturni Crudeli (2001)