Keeping in mind the health and safety of our community, all in-person events at C4NM are canceled until further notice. However, our staff is still available by email, and all events are now hosted online. From our blog: Resources for Artists During the COVID-19 Outbreak
During these extraordinary times, donations are critically important to the continued survival of arts organizations.

Dances, Lullabies and Visions of the Sea

Sunday, September 1, 2013 — 12:00 AM
Tickets: $15 General, $10 Members
Tickets available at the door only

Aaron-Nave-smiling II by Kelly Davidson

Dances, Lullabies and Visions of the Sea is a program designed especially for the Center for New Music. It includes compositions by established American composers Elliott Carter and Alan Fletcher, as well as younger composers Kevin Siegfried and Jim Dalton. The second half of the program introduces my latest endeavor of performing music by Japanese composers. This centers on the music of the late Toru Takemitsu with a guitar solo and a duo for alto flute and guitar with San Francisco native Meghan Jacoby. The largest single work on the program is by Kyoto guitarist and composer Keigo Fujii. A piece that bridges both the Japanese program and my earlier projects (New Lullaby Project) is a premiere by the Montreal-based composer Kota Nakamura.

The program encompasses some of my favorite elements of musical performance: contemporary music that is varied in language and textures, beautiful and intellectually challenging to listener and performer, collaboration with other musicians and performing music by people I know personally.

Part I
Tracing a wheel on water* (2003) by Kevin Siegfried (b. 1969)
Three New Lullabies
A world of your own* (2013) by Jim Dalton (b. 1957)
Lullaby in Three Voices* (2011) by Alan Fletcher
Sui-hou *(2010) by Kota Nakamura
California Premieres
Voice (1971) by Toru Takemitsu (1954-1996)
Meghan Jacoby, flute
Shard (1997) by Elliott Carter (1908-2012)
Toward the Sea (1981) by Toru Takemitsu
i. The Night
ii. Moby Dick
iii. Cape Cod
Meghan Jacoby, alto flute
Aaron Larget-Caplan, guitar
Brief Intermission
Part II
The Legend of Hagaromo (1992) by Keigo Fujii
*Written for and dedicated to Aaron Larget-Caplan