Clara Yang Piano: Sound of the Past and the Present

Monday, November 19, 2018 — 12:00 AM
Tickets: $15 General, $10 Members
Buy Tickets Online
Tickets also available at the door
A solo recital featuring piano works by three Chinese-American composers, Chen Yi, Zhou Long, and Phil Young, as well as pieces by Debussy, Scriabin, and Prokofiev. Chen Yi, Zhou Long, and Phil Young use nature, poetry, and Chinese mythology as inspiration for their beautiful works. The juxtaposition of these works from the past and the present allows listeners to experience music of different eras with a fresh perspective. 
Zhou Long (b. 1953)
Pianobells (2013)
Feux d’artifices, from Preludes, Book II
Phil Young (b. 1952)
Reflection on a Tang Poem (2015)
Prelude in C-sharp Minor, Op.11 No. 10
Etude in C-sharp Minor, Op. 42 No. 5
Prelude in B Major, Op. 16 No. 1
Sonata No. 4 in F-sharp Major, Op. 30
Chen Yi (b. 1953)
Northern Scenes (2015)
Sonata No. 7