Wednesday, December 17, 2014: 8 PM

The Double Negative Ensemble

Tickets: $15 General, $10 Members
Tickets available at the door only

The Double Negative Ensemble is made up the following stellar musicians and master improvisers: John Bischoff – electronics, Nava Dunkelman – percussion, Matthew Goodheart – piano, Frank Gradkowski – clarinet/sax, Shoko Hikage – koto, Aurora Josephson – vocal, Elzbieta Potak – violin, Jon Raskin – clarinet/sax.

The combined knowledge of this group of accomplished musicians and improvisers has my ears a flutter in anticipation of the sounds that will be conjured. The term improvisations doesn’t really do justice to the hard work of creating the musical language and technique on an instrument and than honing the artistic aesthetic to create music that each of these musicians have done. This is even more astounding to me when it is in an ensemble. The music non-narrative will be organized by Jon Raskin who will provide source material and basic structures to be used as needed for the various sub groupings.

For more information on the artists performing tonight please go to the links below:
John Bischoff www.johnbischoff.com
Nava Dunkelman www.navadunkelman.com
Matthew Goodheart www.matthewgoodheart.com
Frank Gratkowski www.gratkowski.com
Shoko Hikage www.shokohikage.com/ShokoHikage/Shoko_Koto.html
Aurora Josephson www.aurorajosephson.com
Elzbieta Potak elapolak.com
Jon Raskin www.jonraskin.com